top of page

Embarking on the Journey of Cali Combat Systems: A Comprehensive Training and Development Overview

Updated: Apr 2

In your pursuit of martial excellence within Cali Combat Systems, your training journey is a mosaic of diverse martial arts experiences, unveiling itself through our carefully structured Phase and Levels Programs. Much like assembling tiles to form a cohesive picture, your progression requires the accumulation of fundamental skills before the broader martial art landscape comes into focus.

Cali Combat Systems draws its inspiration and methodology from the profound research and development of two legendary figures—Guro Dan Inosanto and the late Bruce Lee. Their meticulous exploration of various martial arts, encapsulated in Bruce Lee's Jun Fan Martial Arts, serves as the cornerstone of our system. With a philosophy rooted in Jeet Kune Do, Cali Combat Systems integrates trapping, boxing, kickboxing, and grappling, creating a comprehensive approach to martial arts.

The Phase Program, our guiding curriculum, seamlessly integrates Jun Fan Jeet Kune Do, Kali, Silat, KunTao, Israeli Krav Maga, and Jun Fan JKD Grappling. It serves as both a guide and a detailed outline, offering a structured path for your martial arts odyssey. Each phase encapsulates a wealth of information, providing a study guide for dedicated practitioners.

Unlike traditional belt systems, Cali Combat Systems marks your progress through 'Phases.' Phases 1 - 6 act as benchmarks, reflecting your level of interest, training time, personality, and ability. This system allows for a fluid and personalized progression through the martial arts journey.

Martial art effectiveness is often determined by understanding and mastering the appropriate range for each technique. Cali Combat Systems employs the framework of the 5 categories of range: Kicking Range, Boxing Range, Trapping Range, Clinch Range, and Ground Fighting. This blueprint guides students in selecting techniques suited to the distance from their opponent.

The journey through the JKD-Kali Phase Classes unfolds through distinct phases:

  • Phase 1 – Beginner Practitioner: Base Curriculum Concepts (Yellow Band): Focused on body mechanics, endurance, sensitivity, coordination, and technical foundations.

  • Phase 2 – Intermediate: Junior Practitioner Sensitivity Training (Green Band): Involves hand and foot trapping, limb destructions, and wrenches through Kali, Wing Chun, and Silat drills.

  • Phase 3 – Advanced Graduate Practitioner Jr Coach (Blue Band): Integration of various arts, improving distance, timing, rhythm, and flow.

  • Phase 4 – Apprentice Instructor (Grey-Silver Band): Adapting to physical and mental changes induced by the arts, visible improvement in musculature and body motion.

  • Phase 5 – Full Instructor (Red Band): Encourages pursuing personal interests and specializing in a specific area of the art.

  • Phase 6 – Senior Full Instructor (Red-Gold Band): The pinnacle phase focusing on the positive use of the art to help others.

Advancement within Cali Combat Systems is measured through testing, be it through the signature Phase Program or Single Art Levels. The guidelines ensure a structured and progressive journey, emphasizing consistent training, documented additional hours, and instructor guidance.

As you navigate the training and development landscape of Cali Combat Systems, remember that your journey is as unique as you are. With a commitment to training hard and having fun, each level of progression brings you closer to mastering the intricate artistry of martial combat. Embrace the process, ask questions, and experiment, for in the synthesis of discipline and creativity lies the true essence of Cali Combat Systems.

93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Jeet Kune Do Realism: Adapting to the Unfamiliar

In the realm of Jeet Kune Do (JKD), the ability to perform under pressure is not just about executing techniques—it's about adapting to unfamiliar surroundings. This blog post explores the significanc


bottom of page